Bible Stories

I know, I know, not what you guys expected to see here, but bear with me. Mary Greer sent me a wonderful video about the future of storytelling.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bjoO6Y29f7I&list=PLs6Vd3jEmIsvQTuwyNo6KaILrAal6napZ

Go take a look at it. I’ll wait. Of course card readers are storytellers, too – that’s part of what struck Mary about this. What struck me was – storytelling. The thing I’ve done all my life. It happens when I write about cards, too, or at least I hope it does, because telling stories – that’s how I try to reach you, to say something that’s important to me in a way that I hope you can understand.

So here is the bible story I promised you in the title. You may know that the big event in the Jewish bible was when God called Moses to Mount Horeb to give him instructions on how the Jews were to live.

The first time Moses attempted this the Jews behaved rather badly, with the upshot being that a couple of stone tablets containing some of God’s most important instructions were destroyed. A very bad thing, and that’s the story of the golden calf. That’s not our story, though.

God didn’t give up. He called Moses back up the mountain. And God and Moses talked for forty days. It was a pretty wide-ranging conversation from the accounts. Many instructions were given, including a small thing – but it wasn’t, really. God told Moses that a special type of candlestick, called a menorah, needed to be made for use in the Sanctuary, and later, in the Temple. You can click through the wiki link to see what it probably looked like. Moses wrote down the instructions, which you can find in the bible.

But if you want to know how the first menorah was actually created, you won’t find it in the bible. You need to turn to the oral tradition.

God was dictating, and Moses was dutifully transcribing the words, but God could see that Moses wasn’t getting it. Not really. Moses had a lot of virtues, but he simply wasn’t a visual-spatial thinker. But God, being God, realised there was a way he could solve the problem. And what he did was this: He sent a vision of the menorah directly to the artist Bezalel. And from that, Bezalel could translate it, could make God’s vision of the menorah into a proper thing-of-beauty-in-the-world. Because that – that is what artists do.

I wish this was more inspired, guys, I truly do. But when I thought about storytelling, that was the story that most came to mind. So I give it to you as part of this conversation amongst storytellers. It is only one perspective, albeit one that means something to me.

Here’s what I’d like in return: Tell me a story about storytelling. Write it in the comments if you like, or on your own blog, or maybe make a Facebook post. Please – tell me a story. The subject is so very big, if you’re a storyteller, or a card reader, or you consider yourself both. And I don’t have any answers to how storytelling will evolve. But I know we need to keep telling stories.

Best –
Chanah

Leave a Reply

